Boo’s Views

At the beginning it seemed like it wasn’t going to be too tough, I thought I’d cope (even with my cold). It didn’t help that we had to wake up at 6:30 am when it was still dark! A pot of porridge with golden syrup and a bath roused me enough that I could manage the ride with some smiles.
It was quite funny trying to get the tandem off the roof when we got to Oxford as there was no where really to park, so we were just on the side of the road and there were people and cars all heading to the start point (or changing into their cycling clothing).
When we got going, on the first stretch past Bicester, there were enough people around to ride with company. It got more and more spread out, especially after our break (at 55 miles) which made it harder to believe we were still on our route. I kept asking Daddy if he had seen a sign as I was worried in case we were lost. At some points there was absolutely no-one about which was lonely.
LEJOG LESSON – can local cycle clubs and family join us for a few miles each on our long ride?
We did bump into another tandem, which I always enjoy doing on our rides. Once, Mummy and I met a couple who had travelled to Avebury from France on a tandem. They had some great bags attached to the crossbars for their supplies.
The whole ride was quite tiring, especially as my legs have to go round even if I’m not pushing!
We had five stops for jelly and drinks (Daddy ate sandwiches and bananas and things, but I couldn’t seem to swallow so ate jellies, cocktail sausages, cheese pretzel, and toffee yogurts). I’m glad we had a long lunch and toilet break as my legs were tired and my nose was sore and it gave me time to talk to Mummy.
Things we saw: in the wildlife park area with deer, there was one hidden in the trees and loads of stags under the trees. Two fields full of pheasants, they always seem to be a bit stupid. We went past a classic tractor fair and saw two people driving away in cool old tractors. Through the hedge we saw, and heard, a steam driven traction engine carousel and a bouncy castle. I usually see more scenery than Daddy as I can look around and he has to do the steering.
At one point we saw three lads looking quite smug and happy in the country park in Sandy and there were large branches and logs that we had to walk around. A couple of them we could cycle round but I jumped off to move them for any other cyclists following us. As we pedalled we guessed that the lads had set the branches up.
To keep our spirits up we sang “Daisy Daisy” and “Bow Chicca Bow Wow” from Phineas and Ferb which is a cartoon that we enjoy watching together when we are awake early. When it was all over I was tired and relieved and I was happy it was all over and I could have some chips on my way home.
Worst bits: battling to lunchtime as the 30 miles between stops felt like forever. Time without anyone around to talk to apart from the occasional Marshall at busy roads wasn’t enough. I had a very dribbly snotty nose and sometimes it was hard to get the tissues out of Daddy’s pockets.
LEJOG LESSON – Also Mummy might have to stop more often to keep is supplied, prevent us feeling lonely, and to make sure none of us get lost.

Leave a Reply

